2019 Past Winners



Laura Arce


Jim Donovan  

Athletic Director, Student Affairs, Athletics

From the four Titan Excellence recipients, one was named Titan of the Year. Jim Donovan, director of athletics, has been described as a transformative force within Titan Athletics. Since his arrival on campus, Titan Athletics has nearly quadrupled its annual fundraising and increased annual student attendance at athletic events by more than 1,200 percent. The university’s graduation success rate for student-athletes increased from 68 to 77 percent. Donovan was recently named one of only four nationwide Under Armour Athletic Directors of the Year Award winners.







Alisha Brown

Ken Moyer

Info Tech Consultant, Academic Affairs, Online Education and Training


Ken Moyer is described as an exceptional asset to the Department of Online Education and Training in Academic Affairs. His commitment to his day-to-day work, collaboration with cohorts, vision for the department’s projects and programs, and consistent level of outstanding customer service were noted. Additionally, his commitment to the university’s Accessible Technology Initiative and advancing awareness of the importance of inclusive teaching strategies and accessible instructional materials supports student success and inclusivity.







  Shelly Arsneault

Tammy Rogers

SSP III, Academic Affairs, Dean of Communications office


Tammy Rogers is a pivotal asset to student success within the College of Communications. Over the last 17 years, she has consistently played an integral role in student success, providing support with integrity and attention to detail. This is evident through the improvement in the College of Communication’s graduation and retention rate. 







Shelly ArsneaultMatt Englar-Carlson,

Professor, Counseling, College of Health & Humanities


Matt Englar-Carlson, professor of counseling. is described as an extraordinary educator, providing students with support for both educational and personal growth. His contributions to the campus are evident through his leadership every day in the classroom and in the Graduate Mentoring program, where he increases cultural awareness among students, staff, and faculty while providing resources to the population of underrepresented students through advising and mentorship.



Read more about the 2019 Titan Excellence Award winners at CSUF News. 










Male Youth Empowerment Conference Staff


Sharrica Miller

Assistant Professor, School of Nursing 


This year’s recipient was  Sharrica Miller,  assistant professor of nursing, whose leadership helped establish the first annual Diversity and Inclusion Symposium within the School of Nursing. The symposium introduced important topics surrounding diversity to the campus, such as ethnicity, religion, sexuality and gender expression, providing an opportunity for the campus to recruit and retain a more diverse student population.









Titan Communication Team

Carmen Curiel, Associate Dean of Students (left) Student Affairs, Dean of Students Office  |  Marlene Romero, SSP III (center) Student Affairs, Dean of Students Office | Nick Jakel, Helper-Aid (right) Student Affairs, Dean of Students Office



Tuffy’s Basic Needs Center


This year’s winners were members of the Tuffy’s Basic Needs team: Carmen Curiel, associate dean of students; Marlene Romero, care services coordinator; and student assistant Nick Jakel. This team was instrumental to the success of the Tuffy’s Basic Needs Center in its first year of operation, providing more than 2,000 visitors with food assistance, temporary emergency housing, financial support and the distribution of clothing and hygiene products.







Eileen Walsh


Eileen Walsh

Department Chair, Sociology


Eileen Walsh, chair and associate professor of sociology, was this year’s Leadership Award winner. Walsh was nominated not only for serving as an extraordinary role model to staff and colleagues, but for her leadership in guiding faculty and staff members to contribute to the further growth of the college and its students. She is described as a supportive mentor and collaborative leader with a clear vision for the department that aligns decisions with the students’ best interests.




Read more about the 2019 University Award winners at CSUF News.